Saturday Scribbles

Image

I am serial scribbler.

I have an almost unconscious habit of scribbling down snippets of semi-poetry, pieces of paragraphs, or flashes of daydreams on sticky notes, junk mail envelopes, or any scrap of paper I can get my hands on in the moment. And I am constantly discovering these “scribbles” stuffed in old purses, jacket pockets, buried under stacks of bills, stuck beneath piles of pens in my desk drawers or wedged in between the pages of my favorite books. I’ve never really done much with these scribbles. They just seem to be this quirky extension of myself, cluttering up my spaces.

Today, as I was sitting at my desk trying to do some editing on the book, one such scribble caught my attention, peeking out of from the pages of my trusty dictionary. This particular scribble was one I wrote last summer about my writing partner and I and the journey of our book. I thought I’d actually do something with it and share it here. It’s not Shakespeare, but it’s personal and relevant to this Brave New Blogging Adventure I’m on. So here it is … an original Chelsey Whitlow Scribble.

You ease down

and curl up comfortable

on your end

of my couch.

Friend.

Pen in hand,

imagination primed

for word on page.

To dream unhindered

together,

for just a little while.

There is freedom

and healing

in the craft of

a story.

A mask,

for our own histories,

in turn,

giving another

her own voice.

 

Chelsey Whitlow

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

One thought on “Saturday Scribbles

  1. Pingback: Day 154 | My Year of Grateful

Leave a Reply

