Saturday Scribbles

i am

 

Found this scribble the other day stuffed in between my couch cushions, scrawled across the back of a junk mail envelope. This week I’ve been really trying to embrace the parts of myself that I have kept under close guard (there are quite a few of them). I’ve feared some of these pieces for a long time, and they are, in fact, beautiful and deserve a little daylight.  This scribble was a little gift, written who knows how long ago… a note of wisdom appearing at just the right time.

I am reminded this morning, when we forget we are a collection of beautiful and tragic and wonderful and broken pieces, and start to hide away the less accepted bits, that’s when I believe we truly lose our freedom.

 

I am a collection of

broken hearts and

wounded souls.

I am both

tragedy and joy.

I am scarred and

grateful.

I am both

acquainted with the dark

and a force

fueled by light.

I am a passionate spirit

And a good heart.

I am both

guarded

and

endlessly curious.

And I will not cease.

Chelsey Whitlow

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

