Saturday Scribbles – Thief

thief

 

Most of the time, I get ideas for stories or characters from my own dreams (my imagination seems to go into overdrive when I’m asleep), bits of conversations I overhear or my observations of strangers while I’m out and about. Not to mention pieces of my friends and family. Every once in a while though, I meet someone new and before I know anything about them at all, a story begins to fire off inside my head with them taking center stage. It’s never predictable when it happens and always catches me off guard. It’s quite startling sometimes. When introduced, I usually find myself smiling absentmindedly, nodding, but having no idea what the person is saying or sadly, even what their name is. It’s terribly rude I know, and thankfully it doesn’t happen often. But when it does, this rudeness can be blamed on the fact that I’m desperately trying to hold on to the fragments of story bouncing around in my head long enough to get them written down somewhere.

Oddly enough, this has happened to me twice in the last couple of weeks. And I haven’t been able to stop thinking about either person. On both occasions mutual friends introduced us. I think I managed at least a polite smile and a hand shake each time, but one look and the wheels in my head were already turning.

On both occasions the word thief came to mind. That’s a strange thing to think upon first meeting someone, but I can’t help these things when they pop in my head. They just appear. In these particular cases, I don’t mean thief in the law-breaking sense exactly, more in the sense that each of them stole attention of some kind. And on both occasions I couldn’t get my hand on pen and paper fast enough.

Both of these guys have stolen quite a few of my thoughts over the last several days and I have a story concocted for each of them. I’m just not sure where they will show up yet. My writing partner and I will be starting work on our second book this month. Perhaps one, or both of these guys, will show up there???

Anyways, I decided I would go ahead and share these two scribbles here, on this fine Saturday. It felt necessary today. Cheers Everyone and Happy Plotting wherever it decides to show up for you! You never know when inspiration will hit! (And I’ll go ahead and state an apology for the record, to those who cross my path from day to day….you might just end up in a story at some point….anonymously, of course. 😉 )

 

The Farmer

 

Unexpected grace in beat up cowboy boots.

Gentle hands, exquisitely calloused.

Quiet strength bleeding kindness.

Raw spirit beckoning ….come and see.

 

Thief of one city girl’s heart.

 

 

The Executive

 

A natural politician;

he works the crowd effortlessly…

with those painfully gorgeous blue eyes and that damn smirk of his.

 

People love him.

They can’t help it.

 

He’s electric.

Magnetic.

Mesmerizing charm.

 

Even my own jaded attention…stolen.

 

And he has no idea how dangerous he really is.

 

Chelsey Whitlow

4 thoughts on “Saturday Scribbles – Thief

  1. I really like the idea of writing about someone before you know them. I think this is a valuable way to start analyzing someone in a variety of different ways. I recently wrote a blog post about the characters in the movie About Time, if you’d like to check it out, it’s on my blog. Do you ever find yourself finding characters that you identify with or appreciate the style in which someone describes them? That’s what happened with me when I watched that movie. I want to be able to describe things in that way. You’ve done a great job of explaining here how inspiration hits you sometimes, and maybe some of us just aren’t paying attention when something is trying to find it’s way to our conscious.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Marah! I’ve really been trying to be open to and grab hold of these moments of inspiration lately. Too many times I’ve let them pass me by and I always regret it. People tell stories about themselves without words and without even knowing it all the time. I had a friend in college that remembered people by what they were wearing when she first met them. She can still tell me to this day what I was wearing when we met our freshman year. I love that. I’m going to have to write about it someday. Amazing the things that are revealed or imagined when we pay attention. Great post on About Time by the way. Such a fantastic movie and I loved your observations.

      Like

      • I’m glad you’ve seen About Time and enjoyed my post! That means a lot! I love your ideas about observing people. They are great. I can’t believe that your friend can remember clothes that well! Maybe I should try and dress a bit better 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

