Waiting 


They told me to wait quietly for you.

They told me to pray for you.

They told me to wear my Sunday best so I would be seen by you.

They told me to calm down, to play perfection.

But you never came.
Now…

They tell me to hustle away the loneliness.

They tell me I must kiss all the frogs.

They tell me I must show off these goods of mine.

They tell me to lie.

But they don’t see me.

And they don’t know you.

So,

I will wait loudly and softly, washed in laughter and in tears.

And I will hustle after my dreams.

And I will let my hair blow wild and imperfect.

And I will love those around me bigger and wider and deeper, just so I can breathe.

Because somehow,

I think,

You’re in a place,

Somewhere beautifully in between,

Waiting for me,

To stop listening to anyone resembling they.

Because somehow,

I think,

You’ve been waiting for me,

To simply get real.

Chelsey Whitlow

Leave a Reply

